It’s my right to be ill at the weekend!

Yes, guys and girls, your weekends are not actually your days off. They are legitimate work days and you are all skiving.

So says the Government.

For the first time in my life I had to fill out a self certificate for illness. I was off ill for 6 work days.

But, apparently, not so.

According to the law, I was actually off for 8 days, which means an unnecessary trip to the GP to sign me back.

See, it is based on calendar days, not work days.

In effect, they are saying that your weekend off is legitimate work days.

So, it isn’t actually a self certificate for 7 days illness, it is actually for 5 days.

Perhaps those that are actually really ill might be able to get an appointment with their GP at some point before 2 weeks that everyone gets quoted by the receptionist if 7 day self certificates were actually for 7 work days.

What a complete colossal waste of everyone’s time.

And, Mr Cameron, my weekends are my own to spend how I choose. We should all rise up in a Red Army revolution and reclaim our weekends.

Am I talking out of my ass?

