Universities and social media

Moment of academic amusement #12,985

 

My university wants us to increase our social media profile by linking our university webpages to Facebook or Twitter.

I thought “this will not end well”.

But, my fear were for nothing. Personal Twitter and Facebook pages won’t be allowed, only “professional” ones.

What a shame! No pictures of professors falling out of windows drunk! No pictures of bar fights! No pictures of karaoke! Or dancing to Steps on the tables!

I guess, speaking Academic, this means only social media sites that talk about their university in glowing terms. No criticism allowed.

 

 

Somehow, I think this policy is likely to tank….

Am I talking out of my ass?

