Courage under fire

Despite extreme avoidance on my part, a case of ‘I’d rather not know, thank you very much’, I’ve been a late convert to National Geographic’s Air Crash Investigations. But, my god, today I realised what a flippin’ fantastic job pilots do. Todays ep was about ASA529 that crashed in a little town outside of Atlanta in 1995. With one engine blown they managed to land it in a field with everyone surviving. It was only the subsequent fire that led to some of the passengers dying. But those pilots! How do they stay so focused in such extreme circumstances? Those involved in car accidents are known to close their eyes when they see they are going to crash. But not pilots. No doubt they are thinking they are a gonner but they still do their job to the best of their abilities. And credit to the wee town that it happened in. The emergency services performed admirably despite the fact that they were all appalled at what they were seeing, and they are still visibly distressed thinking about it even nearly 20 years later.

I don’t say this often, but, by god, I’m impressed.

Am I talking out of my ass?

